Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass Kits - What's a Good One?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by mattzink, Jan 9, 2006.

1. mattzink

mattzink

Jun 21, 2002
    Bloomington, IN
    Hey y'all!
    Wanted to build my next bass before I went off the deep end and tried to build one from scratch. I thought it'd be a good way to learn my way around. I've found a few kits for sale, but I wonder which is best? I'd like to build a P-bass, but am not that particular.

Can anyone recommend a good kit with quality woods, hardware, and factory workmanship? I'd appreciate it,
    Matt

2. Greg Clinkingbeard

Greg Clinkingbeard

Apr 4, 2005
    Kansas City area
    Setup and repair/KRUTZ Strings
    Some TBers may know of a quality complete kit bass, but I haven't seen them. Carvin may be an option, but I have no experience with them.

I assembled a Jazz bass recently from the following sources:
    Body and neck- USA custom guitars---$500
    Pickups---bestbassgear.com $110
    Hardware---AllParts, Warmoth---$200

If your budget permits this kind of expense and you have general knowledge regarding fitting a nut, wiring and setting up an instrument, this may be something to consider.

If you are a Newbie I'd recommend buying an SX for $100 and learn on that. They are good basses and will benefit from better parts. :D

3. Clink's got good advice - I'll only add that IMO the Carvin kits would be pretty high quality because they use the same parts as their bolt-on customs. Of course those killer finishes aren't going to happen but at least the basic goods are up to par. Now, I haven't built one but I've studied them with Carvin and I've played a bolt-on Carvin or two and liked the quality.