1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass Kits?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by volt9stormrider, Jul 27, 2007.

1. I've just begun to hear about these.

are they good?
    how expensive are they?
    are they hard to put together?
    is it worth it?

I have no knowledge whatsoever of these kits, and I would like to have some feedback on them.

2. theLimeyBrit

theLimeyBrit Used Register

Feb 3, 2006
    Longview, TX
    If you're looking to build a bass just to save some money, don't bother. If you want to do it right, you'll spend about the same amount of money as you would on a mid-priced bass- somewhere in the region of $600-$1000. If you factor in the time, effort and expense in putting it all together, a kit will end up costing a lot more than a manufactured instrument. Worth it? You'll end up with an instrument that is a lot more personal than just buying something off the rack. That'd make it worth it for me.

3. Son of Magni

Son of Magni

May 10, 2005
    NH
    Builder: ThorBass
    The other benefit is that you'll probably end up with a lot of nice tools ;)

4. knarleybass

knarleybass Commercial User

Apr 6, 2005
    Tustin, CA
    Owner of Ulyate Instruments
    I love tools!

5. 62bass

62bass

Apr 3, 2005
    Some kits require you do a lot of work in the final fitting, with some fret levelling more than likely and of course, putting a finish on it.

One kit, the Carvin Bolt 4 or 5 kits come complete with everything including the electronics. All you need to do is some final sanding and apply the finish, then assemble. Everything fits together perfectly. You solder a couple of pickup connections, set the action to your liking and your're done. No fret levelling needed. You end up with an excellent playing and sounding jazz type bass.