Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

BASS LIGHTS?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by jake speed, Jul 22, 2002.

1. HELP,
    I HAVE PRICED PUTTING L.E.D`S IN MY BASS WOW!!!
    AS A SKILLED ENGINEER I AM GOING TO DO IT MYSELF!
    ANY TIPS AND HELP WOULD BE GREAT OR THINGS I SHOULD KNOW.
    MANY MANY THANKS
    JAKE.........

2. Jake, first tip, DON'T USE ALL CAPS, IT LOOKS LIKE YOU'RE YELLING.

Putting LEDs in after the fact is a pretty extensive job, from what I've heard. It's much easier to install them before the fretboard is mounted to the neck.

Did you get both the front LEDs and the side LEDs, or just one? I've thought about getting LEDs, but like I said, the work involved on a complete neck is pretty heavy. But I wish you luck, and keep us updated.

3. thrash_jazz

thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Artist: JAF Basses, Circle K Strings
    What about installing them in the body? Seems to me that that wouldn't be quite as much work... ?

4. grooveguru

grooveguru

Sep 14, 2000
    Central PA
    Go to Sims Custom LEDs at http://www.simscustom.com/nbn.asp and look at their neck only option (Nothing but neck). They do the work on just your neck and you do some work on the body. 30% discount. Should run you around 4 bills or less. They did a wonderful job on my Lakland. Got front and sides installed and no I didn't do any of the work myself as I'm just chicken sh*t

5. FalsehoodBass

FalsehoodBass

Jul 22, 2001
    Denver, CO
    what was the turnaround time?

6. grooveguru

grooveguru

Sep 14, 2000
    Central PA
    They need the bass or neck for 4 working days and shipping is about 2 days both ways so 8 days total. They book by appointment so they can stick to their schedule.

7. Sam V

Sam V Guest

Aug 3, 2002
    Canada - Calgary AB