Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass making for a 16 year old idiot... LOL plz help me...

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by IVIudvayne, Mar 14, 2003.

1. ok... ive just lately started modifying my basses and making them better than when fender made them... but i just dove off the deep end trying to make a bass.... i want to make a neck thru but i dont know where to find truss rods, and i was also wondering what kind of glue and shop clamps yall use... im 16 so im not an expert on woodworking but i know my way around all of the tools(been working with them since i was old enough to control the table saw to some extent..... i was just wondering if anyone could hellp me with this endeacor and if you had any pointers for me... any help would be greatly appreciated... and do any of you know how to make the curve in the body like the back of a thumb bass or the old spectors???
    i hope yall can help...

thnx,
    Ian

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Well the title of the thread certainly seems accurate, after reading the content! ;)

3. pilotjones

pilotjones Supporting Member

Nov 8, 2001
    US-NY-NYC
    Look at the other threads in this forum. Read them all. There's a ton of the info you are looking for. And don't forget the books that are suggested.

4. Taylor Livingston

Taylor Livingston Supporting Member Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    Louisiana, US
    Owner, Iron Ether Electronics
    That's not very nice.

<a href=http://www.warmoth.com>Warmoth has tons of supplies for building basses</a>

<a href=http://www.stewmac.com>StewMac has plenty of stuff too</a>

<a href=http://www.lmii.com>Luthier's mercantile is good for wood and some other things.</a>

Those should be plenty, but some higher-end wood places are:

http://galleryhardwoods.com
    http://gilmerwood.com