Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass Method Books for University Study...any other teachers out there?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Chris Fitzgerald, Aug 26, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    I've been teaching private students for the past 15 years (Bass and Piano), but this year a new wrinkle has been thrown in...I've been asked to take a few BG students at Bellarmine University, where I also teach classes in Orchestration and Jazz Harmony. My question is about preferred bass method books.

In my private teaching, I use my own method, which is slightly different for each student, and I will continue to do that in the collegiate situation... BUT, I am also required to turn in a syllabus with information on the method book(s) used, and I am at a loss at the moment as to what method book to choose for this purpose. Basically, I'm looking for something that will provide a solid foundation in reading and physical technique. I could use a DB method book for this, but would rather use a BG method if there is an acceptable one out there.

Any/all serious suggestions welcome.

Thanks,
    Chris

2. Check ou the Evolving Bassist by Rufus Reid. "A comprehensive method in developing a total musival Concept for the aspiring jazz bass player." It's for DB but i use it for BG just the same.

3. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
  4. Chris A

Chris A Chemo sucks!

Feb 25, 2000
    Manchester NH
    This is what I studied out of for my collegiate lessons. Well, that and the Simandl.

Chris A.:rolleyes:

5. Chris, _The Evolving Bassist_ and Simandl's 30 Etudes are what I usually use with bass guitar students.

6. Chris Fitzgerald