1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bass noob here.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by T Dubbayew, Aug 23, 2012.

1. T Dubbayew

T Dubbayew

Aug 19, 2012
    Spokane, WA
    So a spot opened up in my buddy's band for a bassist and, as of a week and a half ago, I became one. I've never tried bass before so everything is new. So i got an Ampeg PF-500 since it is so popular and reasonably priced. i messed up though and got cabinets that are too big for the amp (4 ohms each). Its ok though, the band figured out a decent workaround and I couldn't believe how those cabs were booming. What we did is route the PF-500 through a 2 ohm power amp from the pre-amp out on the PF-500 and then hook the cabs to the power amp. The power amp took all the heat. The PF-500 was totally cold. I was able to get my 4x10 and my 1x15 sub to work great and I was able to blend in between two elite guitarists with full stacks. It's kinda fun when it all works out. The only thing that sucks is that there is no way to rack mount the PF. I might actually have to custom make a set of rack ears for it to work.

2. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    Glad that worked out for you. Another alternative would be to make a series cable and run both cabs off your amp. The only drawback to that would be that you'd then be running into 8 ohms, so you wouldn't get all the power your amp can produce. It'd still be loud, though.

3. anderbass

anderbass

Dec 20, 2005
    Phoenix. Az.
    I agree with Munji.