1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass Noob

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by elmachete, May 8, 2010.

1. elmachete

elmachete

May 8, 2010
    Hi guys, new to the forum here, I've been playing guitar for about 5 years and lately i've been looking around at some bass gear to start me off. I mainly listen to Hardcore/Metal music.

What are people's thoughts on:

Fender Squier Vintage Modified P-Bass

[​IMG]

Orange Crush 35B

[​IMG]

I'd only really be playing at home which is why i'm more after a combo than a head and cab.
    Are there any other amps you guys would recommend?
    Would it be worth it installing EMGs into it? If so, would the P or PA pickups be better?
    Also, are there any distortion pedals that I would need to assist in 'bringing the br00tz'?

2. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    Connecticut
    Just a helpful idea- you'll be best off splitting this thread into three different ones; you'll get more answers about the amp in the Amps forum and the effects in the Effects forum.

3. Rocinante_x1

Rocinante_x1 Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose Supporting Member

Aug 22, 2004
    Washington State