Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass not a Jazz instrument????

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by hateater, Sep 9, 2003.

1. hateater

hateater snatch canadian cream

May 4, 2001
    Eugene, OR
    So I am sitting in my internet class (I still am), and the girl next to me is talking about the school's jazz band. I told her that I would like to try out and she asked me what instrument I played. I told her I am a bassist and she says, "Well, I don't know- I think you would have a better chance of getting into the band if you played an actual jazz instrument".

Of course, I totally disagree with her and I politley informed her that I think I would fit in just fine- but she is still standing her ground. Input?

(LOL a college student who cant spell "Input")

2. wulf

wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    It's spelt with an 'n' (input, that is ;) )...

I think early jazz groups might sometimes have used a tuba to fulfill the bass role, but the acoustic bass became a mainstay pretty early on.

There is a certain measure of prejudice against the use of electric bass in jazz but, certainly in the sense that jazz is a living, breathing and developing musical genre, that shouldn't be a problem. I guess it could be an issue if the teacher in charge of the group is trying to create a historical snapshot of a particular kind of jazz, but before you jump to conclusions, talk to them.

If you really need to be able to play upright bass, they may be able to help with finding an instrument you can use (one of my few regrets from my school days is that I didn't spend more time using the acoustic bass that was hidden away in one of the cupboards). However, you've only got a problem if the teacher is prejudiced - I wouldn't worry too much about the apparently ill-researched opinions of 'some girl you sat next to' :)

Wulf

3. ONYX

ONYX

Apr 14, 2000
    Michigan