Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass On A Budget

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bassman_Spike, Mar 22, 2003.

1. Hello

I've been playing bass for about 5 years, but only serious for the last 2. Ive got about $500 USD and ive got an alright amp so a new bass is next on the list.

I play mainly Rock music but like the Chili Peppers so im after something that can handle funk and blues as well as rock..

Ive been looking on the net a bit and most basses in my price range have the dual humbuckers or soapbars...but from what ive been reading on TB is that a jazz bass would probably be most suitable

I know i have to go out play some basses before i get one but i just would like your opinion on what to try out

So a 4 string bass, thats suits rock/funk/blues for $500

Thanks you all for reading, it is a fairly long post

Spike

2. way_of_opiatism

way_of_opiatism 28d, 6h, 42m, 12 seconds

Feb 5, 2003
    Cobb!
    mim fender, but also check out the ibanez's/samicks.

3. christle

christle Supporting Member

Jan 26, 2002
    Winnipeg, MB
    I second the MIM Fender. Best bet is to play everything in your price range that you can at the local music store and decide which works best for you.

Have fun.

Dan

4. Gene Machine

Gene Machine

Mar 19, 2003
    Yeah,
    i just got a MIM J bass fender for $410 and its sweet. The sunburst could be a bit better, but I think they save those tops for the more expensive fiddles.

I use a noise gate, so I don't notice any hum from the pups, but did before the gate.

g.:bassist:

5. Thanks for the replys

It seems like fender might be they way to go

Who owns a bass with dual humbuckers or soapbars and what are they like?
    i got the impression from some searchs they are the most versatile but are more suited for metal
    Could be wrong of course