Bass or Amp

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Cpt_Llama, Mar 30, 2001.

1. I am a beginner, I have approxamatly $600 cdn I want to spend, What I am wondering is, What should I invest more cash in the Bass or the Amp?
  2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

The "better amp vs. better bass" war has been fought in the past.

I stay in the "better amp", (i.e., more money), camp. What good is a great bass tone, if you can't amplify it accurately?

If you want an an opinion from a technical expert instead of an old bassist, "It's not an exaggeration to say that a good amp can make a lousy guitar better, while a bad amp will make the best guitar sound lousy." If you'd like to know more, try That's where the quote comes from. Technically, it refers to guitars, but it's still strings, pickups, resistors, and speakers, etc.
  3. I'd go all out an a bass , take your time and look around and find yourself a good bass , ask alot of questions and try any bass until you get kicked out of the shop..... no amp no matter how good can make a bad bass sound better. This and the fact that amps really aren't cheap unless you're getting a practice amp so alot of money will obviously go toward this , go all out on a good bass and save up for an amp later
  4. I was thinking about the Vox T-25............

5. i say amp. my advice is, get a combo with around 150 watts (peavey, or used) and a squier or fender bass, better resale (even though you won't sell your first bass, if you have a soul).
  6. Well, so far I've been going with basses, but as soon as I get to college and earn myself some money, I'm gonna run off & look for a nice amp. Unfortunately, I doubt I'll be able to lug all my basses with me to college, so I'll probably have to end up only bringing one of 'em. :(
    Well, I guess I could come back to Hong Kong over winter or summer or something & pick up my other bass(es). :p