1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass Pickups : Which one should I choose?...

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Bass Wave, Feb 26, 2008.

1. Yellow :smug:! I'm a new guy around here, so pardon my lack of experience in forums (I don't even know if this is the right place to ask my question...).

So here's my story... I've been playing bass since almost three years in a rock/metal (or metal/rock if you prefer). I currently play on a Ibanez Ergodine EDB 400 (I use a pick). Unfortunately, after all this years of playing, I've still got ONE big problem with this bass : I hate it's sound :mad:!!! It's just clumsy when I do arpeggios, it gets easely distorted, it's unclear and there's a big lack of punchy-midrangy tone. Sometimes it really feels like I'm an open wha.
    But... I love it's shape, I love it's thin neck :D!!! It's by far the most comfortable bass I've played with :bassist:!!!

So, I figured out I should change the pickups... but there are so many :help:!!! And the guys at the local music store don't really help: they're either guitarists or drummers...
    I know there are a lot of descriptions about them, but sound itself says more then words... and I don't wanna throw money away trying hundreds of pickups.

I love the bass sound of bands such as Tool and Isis, so I'm looking for pickups that could help me get this kind of clear-fat-punchy-midrangy tone.

Can anyone share their experience and help me choose the right pickups :help:? I'd appreciate, thank you!

2. speedkills

speedkills

Jan 10, 2008
    California
    Questions I have for you :
    Do you not like your sound through any amp?
    Have you tried another amp and still not liked your sound?
    What amp are you using?

3. Well if you like the bass and the way it feels, I say mod it.