Bass Player 1 X 12 Shootout SCAM

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Rich Luke, Feb 28, 2002.

1. Be afraid. Be very afraid of what you read in BP. Take notice of the correlation between shootout winners and the SIZE of the manufacturer's advertisement in the mag. Was it only a coincidence that Aguilar's GS112 won "Top Tone" in the same issue that the company took out a two-page, inside front cover advertisement? That's one of the most expensive locations when you're buying ad space! Let me say this: I have been playing semi-professionally for the past 24 years and I have finally found the best sounding bass rig imaginable. I'm powering the Euphonic Audio CxL112 cab with a Euphonic Audio iAmp600 amplifier. It just doesn't get any better than this! When I saw the shootout results, I did some research and took my bass and my iAmp to the closest Aguilar dealer I could find. Guess what? There's no comparison between the two. My EA has Cadillac tone and volume compared to the Aguilar's Hyundai performance. You get what you pay for in cars and sound reinforcement equipment. I can't say that my EA cab should have won because I haven't checked out the other cabs, but I will say that BP's "Top Tone" winner was chosen based soley on the tremendous amount of advertising income from Aguilar and not at all on tone.
  2. fast slapper

fast slapper

Dec 11, 2001
    Fresno, CA
    So I wasn't the only one who thought that the top tone choice was wrong. Have you noticed that companies like Bergantino and Epifani never got awards for there cabs,and Eden,SWR,Ampeg always got them? What you said seems absoulutely true.
  3. This reminds me of the "price fixing" thread, where it was discovered that Aguilar products are manufactured on a grassy knoll.
  4. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL