Bass Players help me out here!!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by gfried84, Sep 27, 2005.

1. gfried84

gfried84 Commercial User

May 7, 2005
    Owner Fried Guitars Inc.
    I am a custom bass builder and I build fender style bass. My question is this, What is more important a basses tone or it's weight? I am asking this because I have shown many people my basses and they complain about the weight of them(in the 9-10lb region). I know that my basses have great tone and play-ability. But people tell me that they want full size basses under 9 pounds and I find this to be ridiculous because for the past 7 years I have been playing solid maple spectors, Solid bubinga warwicks, and many other basses. All have been around this weight and I have had no problem with this weight. I like the look of my basses and don't want to alter the shape and I have looked into chambering the bodies but all the research I have done tells me that this will change the bodies tonal characteristics in a way that won't suit the tone that I strive for in my building. My basses generally have punchy,deep,focused tone. I use mahogony,alder, and swamp ash for my bodies and hard rock maple for necks with pretty much any type of fingerboard. Am I wrong for thinking that tone and play-ability should be the most important factors of my instruments? I have played my basses both sitting and standing and they are comfortable. when I purchase a bass I first and foremost check the tone and play-ability but, it seems that people have become human scales and before anything else, they check the weight.
    Please give me some feedback so maybe I can understand this concept better.
  2. Hollow Man

Hollow Man Supporting Member

Apr 28, 2003
    Springfield, VA