1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass Players Who Also Play Guitar..... A Little Help Needed

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by ejaggers, Feb 9, 2016.

Tags:
  1. ejaggers

ejaggers Supporting Member

Aug 18, 2009
    Fort Worth, tx
    I’ve been predominately playing bass forever. I was a drummer in a band years ago, and I play piano fairly well although never in a band. I played bass violin in the orchestra from Jr High thru College, but guitar has always eluded me. I use to own a Fender Gemini II acoustic/electric guitar some years back, and even took lessons. But ended up selling it because I just couldn’t play it, and also to buy another bass.

Anyway I want to buy a guitar for some reason. Maybe because I can jam with a lead player without him having to bring anything, or maybe because I’m lying to myself again thinking I will learn how to play. Or maybe because I have enough basses and don’t need another one (although there’s an Artcore on CL that’s mighty tempting).

So for you bass players that play guitar, if you could only have one, would it be a strat, tele, LP, SG, or what?

I also love to mod, so I was thinking about an Affinity Strat, because we all know Squier has stepped up its game on basses, and I assume that applies to guitars as well. I’m not going over $200, and I’ve seen AFN’s for $60 lately which gives me mod budget. Other considerations are USA Peavey, or Ibanez (which I know nothing about. I don’t own an Ibanez bass at all).

So What Say You????

2. ONYX

ONYX

Apr 14, 2000
    Michigan
    When I transmogrify into a guitar player, my weapon of choice is a Strat--got 2 of them, one set up for slide playing. I also use a Carvin occasionally.

If I could only take one with me, it would be the Strat--good all around workhorse guitar.

viper4000 likes this.