Bass players who play another instrument.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by count_funkula, Feb 23, 2004.

1. How many of you consider yourselves a bass player first and foremost, but also pursue another instrument?

I'm thinking about buying a guitar. I have been recording a lot on my computer but I'm kind of limited when all I can do is bass and drums. I need an instrument with a different sound that I can play chords with. That way I can write something suitable for vocals.

I guess my concern is, will it hurt my bass playing or make it stronger? I'm worried my bass playing will suffer if I devote a lot of time to a new instrument. How do you guys practice two instruments?

I don't know why I'm "worried", it's not like I'm a professional. I just play for my own enjoyment. I'm lucky to be able to play in my church.
    A guitar would be just the thing when I get burned out on the bass.

I'm just rambling...........
  2. Any knowledge about any instrument can only help you on bass.
  3. I also play the Tuba here at Umass Amherst, but the bass gets me more gigs. :D
  4. j-raj

j-raj Bassist: Educator/Soloist/Performer Staff Member Supporting Member

Jan 14, 2003
    Atlanta, GA!

***Wow Nick, I went to ZOOMass SpamHerst... err... 12 years ago... Man, that is a fun School... Especially Butterfield (if it is still around) :D

Anyways, sorry for the side-tracking... Drums/percussion really improved my time and my chops a bit.... Classical guitar used to really whip my fingers into shape.

5. Haha, no kidding man! Butterfield is still around and its an all freshman dorm all the way at the top of that freakin hill. I myself am in Orchard Hill.
  6. j-raj

j-raj Bassist: Educator/Soloist/Performer Staff Member Supporting Member

Jan 14, 2003
    Atlanta, GA!
    It wasn't a Freshman dorm when I lived there ;) .

(PM'd... )