Bass players who play hockey

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by stubborne, Mar 14, 2018.

1. stubborne

stubborne

Oct 22, 2009
    Rock Hill, SC
    Any beer leaguers out there? I see a couple of threads discussing NHL but thought it would be interesting to hear from the guys who suit it up and bleed for their entertainment. I started playing beer league at 38 yrs young after enrolling my very young son in a local rec league. After a few afternoons in the bar with the other dads, I was talked into joining the learn-to-play program and been playing once a week (and sometimes on Sundays) for the last 15 years. Looking forward to hearing from you guys!

corndog likes this.
  2. Tony G

Tony G

Jan 20, 2006
    NY
    You story sounds very close to mine, but I started at 36yo, and this is the end of my second season! I've had tons of fun, but between my son's hockey schedule and my own, I'm a little burned out and need a break over the summer!

stubborne and corndog like this.
  3. dwm74

dwm74

Nov 8, 2009
    Phoenix, AZ
    Used to be. Played all through high school up into my early 20s, then took about 15 yrs away from participating in the game. Still was an avid fan, but during the 80s & 90s there weren't many rinks here in Phoenix.

When my son became old enough I started coaching again, and played in men's leagues a few years, but it got to be too much time at the rink, especially with some games at 11pm.

I last played in an over-35 league about five years ago but even that wasn't as much fun as I'd hoped. Having not played for so many years my timing was so far off it was embarrassing. Skating and stickhandling was fine...passing and anticipating/reading the play was noticeably lagging. Nowadays I don't actively participate, but still follow the sport avidly.

4. TOOL460002

TOOL460002

Nov 4, 2004
    Santa Cruz