1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bass preamp vs. mic preamp

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Ludvig, Jan 21, 2019.

1. Ludvig

Ludvig

Jan 21, 2019
    Sweden
    Hi, newbie here. I´m having trouble finding a good, normal bass tone. I don´t get the low, fat, focused bottom "growl" that professional recordings have. I play acoustic/electric pop in the style of Fleetwood Mac, Neil Young and Teenage Fanclub. When I compare my mixes to reference tracks I always find that my bass lack the deep, clear bottom. But when I turn up the fader I only get a flabby, empty,"balloony" sound that disturbs the whole mix.

I have tried pretty much everything when it comes to eq- and compression, and various plugins (R-bass, Low Air, CLA-bass, saturation etc. etc.) without any change. I have also changed my playing, from pick, to thumb, to fingers, soft and hard and in between, without result.
    I therefore assume that I need some type of preamp or mic preamp to get the heavier bottom end? I tried a Sansamp Bass Driver DI, but to no avail, it only colored the sound, no more than a bass vst amp simulator.

I live in an apartment with thin walls, so an amp and a speaker is not an option.
    After reading posts here and watching You-tube videos, it seems to me that most of you bass players use DI:s such as Reddi and Avalon U5, but you also talk about mic preamps, such as Neve 1073 and API 512. DI:s, active nor passive, as far as I understand are not preamps since they don´t raise the output level enough. But is it the Reddi DI that produce the weight to the bass, or is it the mic preamp?