Bass Purchase Suggestions

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Pete Crane, Apr 20, 2002.

1. I am pretty new at playing bass (played giutar for 17 years and just switched over about 6 months ago). I moved overseas for a job and now have the money to actually buy some decent equipment. Only 2 downsides to it.... 1) Nothing I get can weigh over 70lbs and 2) I can't actually play anything before I buy it.

I bought a Trace Elliot Commando 15, which has turned out pretty well for a small amp. Now I am looking for a new bass around $1000 - $1500. I was really interested in a Ric 4003, mainly because of looks, till I heard about the neck stability problems. There is no guitar store here, no one to help set up a new bass, and no one to take it to if it gets screwed up. I don't know much about adjusting truss rods or any of that.

I respect the opinions of all the TB crew. So....I would like any pointers on what I should look at buying. The band I am in is doing 70's thru present day rock. So I need to be pretty versitile.

Thanks in advance for your help.

2. If I were in your situation, being in an area with no guitar stores around, and a limited knowledge of how to work on an instrument, but with plenty of money to spend, I would buy an inexpensive bass to familiarize myself with as well as a better, more expensive bass. Wow, that was quite a run on sentance.

Are you planning on buying used, or new?

You could find a used Ric and buy a Squier for what you are looking at spending.

You could use the squier to work on, i.e. practice truss rod adjustments, bridge adjustments, etc. and avoid damaging your ric.

For $150, if you ruin the Squier, not a huge loss. But for $1000, ruining the Ric would be devestating.

It might help us if we knew where you were located. Shipping overseas from the US can get VERY expensive. Shipping and taxes and customs could cost you nearly as much as your bass!