Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass Quiver

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Klimbim, Jun 5, 2001.

1. Klimbim

Klimbim

Mar 3, 2001
    Hi,
    was thinking about making my own bass quiver, and wonder if anyone here has done this before? The reason for not simply buying one is that being a college student I have a bit more time than I have money.......

What are the specs I would have to follow? What sort of tools might I need?
    Thanks in advance....

2. rablack

rablack

Mar 9, 2000
    Houston, Texas
    I seem to recall someone posting a link to quiver plans on the 2xbasslist within the last 18 months. Go to (all hail) Bob Gollihur's website www.gollihur.com to figure out how to search the 2xbasslist archives.

3. Klimbim

Klimbim

Mar 3, 2001
    thanks alot Rablack....too bad I couldn't find the specs that were mentioned in the article....he mentioned contact cement to glue to leather into the shape but wonder if there's any other way....

4. rablack

rablack

Mar 9, 2000
    Houston, Texas
    It would be a fairly simple leatherwork project. If you can find a source for a piece of stiff leather you're most of the way there. You could use contact cement or rivets or leather stitching. You might try a leather crafting store like Tandy leather (don't know if they are on the web). I briefly considered making my own but finally decided to put a Kolstein quiver on my Xmas list. If you have to buy tools as well as the leather you're probably better off just getting one from Kolstein, Hammond Ashley etc... unless you want to go into business making Klimbim brand bow quivers. Not a likely way to pay off your student loans, however. ;) Good Luck.

5. Klimbim

Klimbim

Mar 3, 2001
    Heh...it's a thought...Klimbim Quivers.....