Bass Recommendation?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rockin982, Jan 27, 2004.

1. rockin982

Jan 27, 2004
    NJ, USA
    Ok, I'm new to bass, and right now I am playing on my dad's Gibson Ripper 4-string, but I would like to get myself a new bass.

Basically what I'm looking for is a 6-string with string spacing that's wide enough to slap, but narrow enough to fret somewhat easily. The reason I want 6 strings is because I want to get into learning solo, and I think it will be helpful to have that full range of notes to work with. I figure a 6 can do just about anything a 4 can do, but when it comes to melodic solo playing, a 4 can't always match a 6.

Keep in mind that I'm pretty much a beginning bass player, so it doesn't have to be a Zon Sonus 6 in Bubinga here, but I want something that's well made, has good intonation, and is very playable. Oh, and it would be nice if it didn't cost a fortune. < $500 would be nice if possible, but if I have to go up to $600-$700 to get what I need, I'll consider it.

One last thing, need a small, in expensive practice amp. Something with a good range since I'm working with 6 strings. But again, don't need a $10,000 Eden\Bag End setup, just something that sounds nice and is loud enough to practice with.

Any suggestions? Thanx!
  2. Skerik1

Sep 21, 2002
    Saint Paul, MN
    If you're "new" to the bass, I wouldn't recommend a six string... If you're looking to play melodies, get a four string and tune it ADGC.

BUT....If you REALLY want a sixer, I'd suggest a Spector Q6. New they run about $600. Spector makes a FINE bass :)

3. sethlow3

sethlow3 Supporting Member

Jun 19, 2003
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Jaco only needed four strings...

But seriously play some sixes first. I myself am a five string man and tuning a 5 EADGC would work well for you. I prefer the low B myself. Another word of advice, as a bass player, make sure you timing and groove is perfect before you even think of soloing.