1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bass Recommendations?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Dubadays, Apr 4, 2009.

1. Dubadays

Dubadays

Apr 4, 2009
    Sorry about the wall of text, but I need to explain things before my questions.

So, I am new here, which is probably pretty obvious, so I figure I should probably give you a little history on my bass playing so I can get feedback on what bass to get. I've been playing bass for over 5 years. I currently play in our high school's top jazz band (which has won in it's division in the Lionel Hampton Jazz Festival, so it's nothing to scoff at), and in several rock bands. In terms or lessons, I had lessons for about a year from the guitar player from An Dochas (A local celtic fusion band that can be found on iTunes), and I have had several clinics, the most notable being with the bass player from the University of Idaho's wind ensemble and the bass player from the school's top jazz band, both of which were 1 on 1 clinics. So, even though I've only been playing for 5 years, I'm not bad at all. I know my theory, I know when and what to play. The thing I'm not too experienced on is buying new equipment. I've had the same bass for all 5 years. It's an Ibanez Ergodyne EDB 600. It has served me well over the past, but it's time to move on. I've only had quite a bit of experience playing a couple other basses, which include another Ibanez, a Thunderbird IV, a double bass (I play this the majority of the time in the jazz band). I've played briefly with a Fender Squire, Gibson SG bass, Epiphone viola bass, Musicman Stingray, and newer Ibanez Ergodyne. I'm am looking for a bass that could give me a tone heard in bands like Wolfmother and Led Zeppelin. So, a couple questions I have are: