Bass Regret

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ptidwell, Nov 30, 2005.

1. ptidwell

ptidwell Commercial User

Jun 13, 2005
    Los Angeles
    Owner LoPHAT Cabinets
    I have been a keyboardist since the late 60's. I have recently been converted to bass because of need. For most of those years I have been a church musician. Where I now attend we have three keyboard players besides myself. We had been through three bass players for various reasons (touring, multi-giging and the like). I dabbled with bass back in the day and because we needed some stability at bass, I stepped up to the plate. I am enjoying it to the utmost, revived musically so to speak. Anyway I have found that as I was with keyboards I'm a total gear head. So I have been buying and selling trying to get that ultimate bass and rig.
    My question is, how many of you have sold or traded basses that you totally regret parting with? Also what ever you sold or traded for was it to move up in quality or just trying something different?

I have been playing bass now 6 months.
    I bought a MIM Jazz, bought a Marcus Miller Jazz, traded the MIM Jazz & cash for a 90's Fernandes APB-5 string. Modded the APB-5 with EMG's P5J pu and the BTS System. Forgot, I also bought a GK head 2000RB, bought 2 Acme B2 II. Bought a Ampeg BA-115. I Modded the MM Jazz with the J-Retro preamp. Ordered a custom 5 from Nino Valenti, bought an F Bass BN5 from a fellow TBer, and now selling the MM Jazz on this forum. So far I have no regrets, but I may need to slow the train down.
  2. g00eY

Sep 17, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    OMGOSH you bought so much stuff... nice stuff...
  3. echo008

echo008 Supporting Member

Jan 30, 2004
    Long Island, NY
    WOW, that alot of activity for 6 months!!!!!!!