Bass related theme for a senior thesis. Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Blackbird, Aug 26, 2003.

1. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    Just talked to my adviser at the University and had my paper signed off. I have finished the requirements for my degree.

My final project is a 30 page thesis (20, since I'm having a senior recital) on a subject of my choosing.

I'm thinking of writing about extended bass techniques, such as tapping, harmonics, the use of the eBow, etc. Either that or I might analyze Joe Frazier pt. II by Jeff Berlin.

Since I have a couple weeks to decide what to write about, I thought I'd ask for some suggestions from you guys. Thanks for any ideas.

2. im thinking this would be a great topic. plenty of info to fill up 20-30 pages easily.

btw, what is your major?
  3. Blackbird

Mar 18, 2000
    Thanks, DFD, but please note it's an either/or thing.

My major is music, focusing on electric bass performance, Jazz and World music styles.
  4. *nice*

im currently looking for a college offering something similar, though i plan on getting a DB and continuing that into college as well, i would love to find a program where i could major in jazz performance on db and/or bg
  5. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

How about Dave Holland's compositions and/or playing in odd time signautures without playing ostinatos for the bass line(s)?

I'd read that!! ;)
  6. Blackbird

Mar 18, 2000
    Well, Bruce, Since you're not responsible for my final grade, I'll let you do your own dirty work.;)

Besides, I'm an electric bass major. it would be nice if I geared my thesis to my instrument, if that makes sense to you.:p
  7. Bruce Lindfield

You could just as easily play them on BG - and Dave Holland plays BG occasionally - with Herbie Hancock for example.