1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass rental for a national tour

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by seanieb, Jun 28, 2012.

1. Hey guys,

So I'll be going on a national tour in August playing mostly electric bass but also some upright. The music director told me that some of the venues will be able to rent an upright bass as part of the backline and so he asked me for specs on a bass I would want. I have never done this before so I'm not sure what I shoul ask for. I figured the obvious stuff would include size, setup, and strings. Anyone have any experience with this?

2. john m

john m Supporting Member

Jan 15, 2006
    What do you use now? D neck or Eb neck--- that would mess me up.

How much arco work? Jazz bridge or Orchestral?

Piezo pickup or miced?

3. Ah yes the pickup would be important. Thank you. It is all jazz stuff, I don't think there is any arco. I actually don't know if my bass is a D neck or Eb neck....:meh:

4. john m

john m Supporting Member

Jan 15, 2006
    If you don't know, I guess it doesn't matter.
    Plenty of help forums to figure it out.

If your use to a jazz bridge (flatter) then an orchestral bridge might feel strange.

5. Ok that's good to know. Thanks!

6. lowfreq33

lowfreq33

Jan 27, 2010
    Nashville
    Endorsing Artist: Genz Benz Amplification
    Why aren't you just bringing your own bass? If only some of the venues are providing one you'll have to cart it anyway.

7. I'm not bringing my bass because there are 5 or 6 flights on the tour and it would be too complicated. I'll only be playing upright on a few of the tunes but the MD said the songs would sound fine on electric if no upright was available.

8. Phil Smith

Phil Smith Mr Sumisu 2 U

May 30, 2000
    Peoples Republic of Brooklyn
    Creator of: iGigBook for Android/iOS
    You can use an electric upright or you can use one of those Kala U basses.