1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass rig / effects setup suggestions

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by K.Boxingham, Oct 4, 2010.

1. I'm seeking some suggestions or ideas for how I can get the best sound out of the gear that I'm using at the moment. FYI - I'm new to bass this year after my mates and I started a band, and soon realised we needed someone to make the band sound good!!!

I'm playing an Ibanez SR300, a Hartke LH500 Head and VX410 Cab (and after reading the number of people praising Larry Hartke for his customer service, I'm glad I did - way to go champ! I bought this amp for it's simplicity...then went and bought a heap of effects pedals!!), Boss ODB-3, Boss LMB-3, Crybaby bass wah, and a Korg Pitchblack tuner (just incase it matters).

So my guitar guy and I were playing around with my rig this arvo and I think the way I am setting it up might be on the right track, but I'd like feedback from any experts please.

Originally I was running my effects through the active input on the front of my amp, but I was getting a lot of hissing, so today I plugged them in through the effects loop and the hissing disappeared, but the volume seemed to drop a little too (I know I can increase the volume on my pedals, which is my to-do list for next practice). I have also played with my pedal order - currently: guitar-> wah -> ODB3 -> LMB3 -> Tuner -> Amp. Does this order sound right?

We mostly play loud rock (I bought the wah for fun last week), so I'm looking for an overdrive setting for noisy rock, a limiter setting that will help cover / blend in my twangy stuff ups, and any hints for the wah. Any suggestions besides "find something that works for you" will be appreciated. I live in the middle of no where and I don't have anyone nearby to help me otherwise!!

Thanks in advance.

2. Try axe - ODB - Wah - tuner - amp.