1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

BASS RIG/SET UP HELP!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by antoniusortega, Oct 18, 2006.

1. antoniusortega

antoniusortega

Oct 18, 2006
    Hello everyone,

I just got a MAG300 Ashdown head and a Ashdown Cabinet (4X10) and can't seem to get it to work. I'm no newbie to music but as far as Bass amps are concerned I guess I am. I plugged everything in right but still no sound. Lights are on, the monster seems powered up, but still nothing. Am I missing something? Please help guys and gals.

Antonius

2. Tony G

Tony G

Jan 20, 2006
    NY
    I'll just ask...are you sure you have the head plugged into the speaker correctly? Are you sure you have your bass plugged in all the way on either the amp or on the bass end?

3. antoniusortega

antoniusortega

Oct 18, 2006
    Yeah everything is plugged in good and tight. The back of the cab has to inputs. It seems one for the normal cable and another that looks like a digital input of some kind. I'm using an instrument cable for the connection.

4. antoniusortega

antoniusortega

Oct 18, 2006
    How can I tell if its the HEAD or the CAB?

5. antoniusortega

antoniusortega

Oct 18, 2006
    Rather...how can I tell if the HEAD is the problem or the CAB is the problem. Is there a way to test out each individually?

6. Tony G

Tony G

Jan 20, 2006
    NY
    I just want to cover all the obvious situations here...Is there a mute button on the head turned on? Is both the volume and gain on the head turned up?

7. Tony G

Tony G

Jan 20, 2006
    NY

Try the head in a cab you know works. If that doesn't work, the head is broken. If it does, try a different head with your new cab.

8. antoniusortega

antoniusortega

Oct 18, 2006