Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass scales

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by B0tt0m Feeder, Aug 4, 2003.

1. B0tt0m Feeder

B0tt0m Feeder

Aug 2, 2003
    What are they exactly and where can I find some tabs for them? :)

2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Also Search Talkbass because this has been discussed many times before, and there is a lot of great info in here.

3. fourstringdrums

fourstringdrums Decidedly Indecisive Supporting Member

Oct 20, 2002
    San Antonio
    I've been playing for 2 years, and have been avoiding scales and theory like the plague. But finally I woke up and found this link: http://www.bass-guitar-review.com/bass-lessons.php3 It doesn't have EVERY scale, but it has the basic 5. Also try www.activebass.com and click on BASICS I think it is..they have a "scale finder" where you can search for any scale in any key, in any degree

4. What are "bass scales"? Are they different from "musical scales"?:)

5. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

These are the things which cover the body of the fish - like its skin - you can make them out as the shiny things on the Bass in the following picture :

[​IMG]

6. Stephen S

Stephen S Member

Apr 10, 2002
    San Bernardino, CA
    As far as I know, scales are scales. No matter what instrument you play them on.

7. Bruce Lindfield

Not to a fish they're not!! ;)

8. Stephen S

Stephen S Member

Apr 10, 2002
    San Bernardino, CA
    :D

9. Bruce Lindfield

Well the question was asked by a "bottom feeder" - which I imagine is some kind of fish!! ;)

10. Chris A

Chris A Chemo sucks!

Feb 25, 2000
    Manchester NH
    Do we need to move this to Off Topic?

Chris A.:rolleyes: :bassist:

11. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

Tarpon have shinier, more metalic-looking scales.:D

12. efcleff

efcleff