bass selection advice

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by The Nanny, Jul 5, 2005.

1. The Nanny

The Nanny

Dec 23, 2004
    Ottawa, Canada
    Hi g/f just bought me an acoustic bass as a present (wow), and I am now thinking of selling my 2 electric basses and purchasing a new electric bass. I need some advice on what to start looking for.

I've been playing for about 15 years, but I haven't owned a wide variety of basses. I know, the selection is very individual, but I'm just looking for a general compass direction.

Here are some details about my situation and what I'm looking for:

- I need a 5-string
    - Bass sound I'd most love to have: Duff's from GNR/Velvet
    - price range is around $1000 USD (but I'm buying in Canada)...used or new is fine
    - I'm playing alot of 80s pop and hard rock, with some metal, gigging weekly
    - basses I know I don't like: Yamaha, Ibanez, any fretless
    - amp: Harke3500

OK folks...let's hear your suggestions! thanks very much!
  2. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Considering Duff used a P-Bass Special through a GK rig, the closest thing you would probably get tonally is a five string P, which won't sound exactly the same. Though the American Deluxe may be a bit out of your price range, search them used.
  3. The Nanny

The Nanny

Dec 23, 2004
    Ottawa, Canada
    OK, I may have found one in my price range, but need advice...

LAKLAND Skyline 55-01 5-String Bass DELUXE (2004), mint condition, gig bag. $850 CDN (about $680 USD)

Is this a good deal?

thanks tpylons for the bass info...that is a sweet instrument, but out of my price range :(
  4. mikezimmerman

mikezimmerman Supporting Member

Apr 29, 2001
    Omaha, Nebraska