Bass setup/adjustment?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by patrickj, Sep 5, 2001.

1. patrickj

Aug 13, 2001
    Baltimore, MD
    for my new BTB406 :)

My last bass was a decent Washburn bantam 4 string. I liked it, served me well, but beyond tuning and changing the strings, I never really did anything else to adjust it - just played it.

Any suggestions? How should the bridge/action be adjusted to ensure that the strings are tune across octaves (ie: open G, +1 octave, +2 octave - my Washburn went slightly flatter with each octave jump), etc?

2. Aaron

Jun 2, 2001
    Bellingham, WA
    shouldn't this be in setup?

some stuff includes:
    -adjusting action with allen (hex) wrench at bridge
    -tightening/loosening truss rod to change the relief.
    -checking intonation and making adjustments on that.
    -filing nut

but i'm not an expert, take someone else's advice.
  3. SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    What you need to adjust is called the intonation, which is essentially changing the length of the strings to make sure they are as in tune as possible along the neck.

Get an electronic tuner, and make sure the string is in tune, first, and then play the harmonic at the twelth fret, and see if it is flat, sharp, or in tune. If it's in tune, you're good to go! If it is flat, take a screwdriver and turn it so that the saddle moves closer to the neck of the bass. Retune the string, and check the harmonic. If the harmonic is sharp from the open string, move the saddle away from the neck.

Adjusting the action involves turning the truss rod, which you may or may not want to do depending on how confidant you are. It doesn't matter either way, but you do have to adjust both the truss rod and the bridge saddles to change your action.
  4. cassanova

Sep 4, 2000