1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bass setup - getting the slap sound right

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by climatex, Aug 13, 2017.

Tags:
  1. climatex

climatex

Jul 17, 2017
    Slovakia
    Hi folks,

a newbie here. Got my first bass yesterday, a Yamaha TRBX174EW P/J.
    Of course, like any other instrument it needed a little setting up, as the frets were buzzing far too much. First, the neck had been dead flat and there was no air gap in the middle of the E string, when it was fretted between the first and the 17th fret. I've did some neck relief to make it a little bit concave [the manual even did state so], allowing a 0.75mm gap, measured at the 7th fret, through which a business card would pass and then let it settle for a day.

Then I've checked the action height, tuned that thing up and verified intonation through playing a harmonic tone, with the finger barely touching the string at the 12th fret, comparing it with the twelfth fretted note. Here's the action of the E string at 3 milimeters between the last fret and the string itself:

4qlAkcK.

But one thing that continues to bug me, is a sharp "thump" while trying to slap the strings. The sound gets clunky especially if I try to slap while fretting a note, but it also clanks while slapping an open string (all 4 strings do it, regardless of pickup volume). The string hits the last fret, but it doesn't seem to hit either the P or the J pickups, so I have ruled out that possibility:

Kv4uqQl.

I'm slapping close to the neck, with my thumb, and if I try a more "softer" technique the sound just gets dull. I mean, is it supposed to sound like this, or am I making a mistake somewhere in the process?

Best regards.

2. kumimajava

kumimajava

May 19, 2010
    Tokyo, Japan