Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass Size Question

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by pinballwizard, Aug 2, 2004.

1. pinballwizard

pinballwizard

Aug 2, 2004
    Hey. I'm 13 and Ive been playing bass for a few months now. I have a Fender P Bass and it is almost impossible for me to reach notes I need to hit near the top of the neck, so I am looking into smaller scale basses. What is the standard size of a bass and what is a smaller size (in inches).
    thanks

2. Your Fender has a nominal 34" scale (the measurement from the nut to where the string hits the saddle). A short scale, like a Gibson or Epiphone EB-0 has a nominal 30" scale. I hope this helps.

3. pinballwizard

pinballwizard

Aug 2, 2004
    yeah. thanks much.

4. How about a Fender MusicMaster or Mustang bass?

Them's short scale.

How about a Danelectro Longhorn?

there are tons out there. even a Kubicki is 32" scale, and the "reach" isn't horrible.

READ custom basses makes a very nice short scale.

5. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

keep the fender you have now until you get older. while your still too small, use a smaller bass.

6. "I would get the V personally. I like angular basses."

Yeah, as long as you don't ever play it sitting down!

7. lo-end

lo-end

Jun 15, 2001
    PA
    Hmm, I dont really think it's worth getting a short scale bass. I started out on a Precision Bass back when I was the same age as you (although it had the narrower J Bass neck) If I were you I'd just get a new 34" scale bass.

But hey, it's up to you. Just tryin to throw another opinion into the mix.

8. That would be my "bass to stand up with and pretend to be in a hair metal band".

I'm more of an Explorer person. I just like the V out of all five choices.

9. Whafrodamus

Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003
    Andover, MA
    Epiphone= poopsvah. I had an EB0 and it was the worst bass... ever.