1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass solo gigs...y r they hard to get?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by alexis=bassist, Sep 22, 2008.

1. alexis=bassist

alexis=bassist

Sep 4, 2008
    I have been tryin to get a gig in Dallas,TX,but since I am a solo artist,no one will give me a chance.I am only 17 and only have 3 years experience(about to be 3 years),but...well I dont like to say how good I am...I dont like to brag or anythin cuz people dont respect that.:rollno:

Anywayz...

Wut I wuz thinkin is that I could have my friend play tha drums behind me durin some of my songs.

When Im on stage,I dont thay tha bass...I just play.

I think people dont give bass players a chance.

or myabe its my age,but ima bout to be 18.

I would play for free!I just love playin!

I play at an open mic every 1st wednesday of tha month.

But i want to have a full show!

Thats it:)

-peace:smug:

2. Nick Kay

Nick Kay

Jul 26, 2007
    Toronto, Ontario
    Solo bass stuff has its place - in the bedroom. The audience for that type of material is ridiculously small. Even Wooten has a band behind him for the majority of his material, eh?

Not trying to knock your choice in music. But you've gotta realize a top 40's cover band is going to get way more work than a solo artist without a backing band. It doesn't help that people have a lot of trouble thinking of bass as a melodic instrument.

3. Spinal Tapper

Spinal Tapper

Nov 15, 2007
    Chicago
    You should probably scrap together some similar artists, whether they're solo or in bands and get a showcase together yourself. It might not be at the venue of your choice, but at least it'll be something to get your started and get your name out there! Also, helps to at least have a drummer backing you...then it seems more legit.

Good luck!

4. j.a.e.r.i.p

j.a.e.r.i.p

Apr 8, 2007