1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass stable

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Joe Milo, Apr 17, 2010.

1. Joe Milo

Joe Milo

Nov 1, 2009
    Geneva Ohio
    Right now I have just one bass to relearn on. I started playing again after a 14 year hiatus. Currently playing an ESP/LTD B404. Once I get better I would like to add more bases to the stable as funds allow. Just curious if the basses I would like to add make sense to other players. I'm thinking basses that all have different sounds from each other but have sounds that are common to the bass.
    I would like to add the following:

Fender P bass with flats.
    EBMM Stingray HH
    Peavey Cirrus.

All would be 4 stingers. Do these choices make for a good stable?

2. XtheDeadPawn

XtheDeadPawn

May 24, 2008
    Texas
    It depends.
    Are they what you want?

As you know they all sound different but, (IMO) only you can really determine if in fact this stable really is a good one.

I currently only have two in mine a 4 string RBX170 from Yamaha a good P/J bass that I use for a good passive sound for ballads and light acoustic type stuff and a 5 string Ibanez ATK305 that can do anything from being aggressive to sensitive on the fly with just a flick of a switch. For some 2 basses aren't even a stable but, too me it's a perfect stable.

Now as far as getting the answer to wether the basses you listed are a good idea or not to obtain. I think I need some answers first:

1. What are you going to play them through?

2. What style of music do you plan on using them for?

3. What's your budget?

Also you might want to ask yourself if you really need them all or just 1 or 2?

For example I notice that the Cirrus and the Stingray HH both have double humbuckers.

3. waleross

waleross

Nov 27, 2009
    South Florida