Bass Stage Presence. PLEASE READ!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by HunsBassist, Mar 29, 2005.

1. HunsBassist

Oct 3, 2004
    Orlando, FL
    I am a bassist from Orlando, FL in a punk/surf/ska band. We've been playing out around Orlando and now we have an artist showcase in Tallahassee. Executives from Epic and Columbia records will be there. I am (excluding the drummer) the main energy on stage. I try to go all out in my stage presence. But I have one problem. I cannot jump very high. For the most part, it just looks ridiculous when I try. And it's kinda hard to carry the energy of a performance staying on the ground. If anybody has any sort of technique that would get a higher liftoff, could you please inform me. Preferably quickly. The showcase is in 2 1/2 weeks. Thank you for your time,
    Matthew O'Donnell of AATH (check us out at
  2. Corwin81

Mar 18, 2003
    Ames, IA
    even though it's metal, watch Rob Trujillo. He doesn't leave the ground much and has awesome presence
  3. Agreed. There is a fine line between looking like you know what you are doing and tomfoolery. Jumping can be part of both, or neither.
  4. cheezewiz

Mar 27, 2002
    LOL! How about worrying about how you play rather than how high you can jump. Man...this is a pretty sad statement about the music world today. All style over substance.

5. Too bad substance is usually boring as hell to watch. :eyebrow:

I really hope you weren't serious with that comment, though.
  6. cheezewiz

Mar 27, 2002
    I was dead serious. This is one of the funniest threads I've ever seen. I mean really? "Help me jump higher so we can get signed"
  7. Bassists look very cool standing stock still surrounded by mayhem (and the singer thought the world revloved around him/her).
  8. fraublugher

Nov 19, 2004
    ottawa, ontario, canada
    music school retailer
    take a dance class and learn what body flight is.