1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass Suggestion

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Rick P., Apr 18, 2015.

1. Rick P.

Rick P.

Apr 18, 2015
    Hi,

I'm in the market to buy my first bass guitar. I don't know how to play bass but from what I've seen I'd like to purchase a four string fretless electric bass. Can anyone argue why this wouldn't be a good choice (getting fretted and or more strings?). Can anyone also recommend a good model to purchase? I'd really like to get a good quality instrument in the 1k to 2k range (maybe someone can argue about the price point versus quality as well). I'm totally new to this so I have really nothing to go off of. As far as the kind of bass music I enjoy a good example would be "Get The Funk Out" by Extreme, have always enjoyed rock music with a prominent bass sound to it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Lee Moses

Lee Moses

Apr 2, 2013
    Tennessee
    If you are attracted to 4-string fretless, there is nothing wrong with starting out with that. Against it, someone might point out a greater learning curve for fretless as opposed to fretted, where all the notes are laid out for you. If you are a new musician with an untrained ear, this will certainly present an added challenge.

As far as having the added strings, quite a bit of modern music at least occasionally hits notes below open E. And both the low B and high C strings provide added fingering options to limit shifting. But 99% of the notes you will be called upon to provide as a bassist will probably be found in the traditional 4-string range.