Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

bass wah pedals?

Discussion in 'Ask Mike Watt [Archived]' started by bigbassjay, Jan 10, 2003.

1. bigbassjay

bigbassjay

Jan 9, 2003
    say all I am new to this board.
    My question is
    I just bought a snarling dog bass wah pedal (bawl buster)
    It seems to be a fairly good pedal but it looses all sorts of definition in the low end, now I relize that this could be beacause of my lack of wah pedal usage but it seems really washed out.
    Any advice or recomendations for a good bass wah
    thanks
    Jay

2. Hi there:

I'm sure Mr. Watt has some interesting stuff to say here...but, I have had some experience, so I thought I'd send a quick one.

I have a dunlop bass cry baby, it's pretty cool. You can check it out here:
    http://www.musicgearreview.com/reviews/crybaby-bass-wah.htm

Bass-wahs are weird though, they are basically variable tone potentiometers...in other words, they cut bass frequencies and enhance trebles.

I liked mine best when I was running split signal with two amps: one amp clean and one amp for wah-wah or other effects.

Let's see what Watt says.
    DP

3. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    I haven't heard to many low end friendly wahs. I'm more of an autowah/envelope filter man myself.

4. watt

watt TalkBass Pro Supporting Member

hi,

I have very little experience w/ bass wahs. I did use a digitech whammy pedal on a dos record once - it was a trip. boosted me up two octaves w/one swing of the pedal! wish I could add more to this topic, sorry.

I do know almost -all- effects screw w/the low end and punch of a bass so the idea about running a clean amp and an effected amp sounds like a good one.

on bass, watt