Bass Withdraws Anyone?!?

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by LarryM317, Dec 27, 2005.

1. LarryM317

Jun 28, 2005
    Ohio Valley
    Like many of you reading, I took some time this holiday season to get back home. I live in Ohio but originally from Indiana. So I decided to take a week off of work for christmas and make a vacation out of it. 10 days in Indiana (doesnt sound like fun, but I enjoyed myself).

Now I have been playing bass for about 9 months. And I have made a habbit of playing atleast every day. I didn't want to drag my bass and amp all over the place so I just left it at home.

I went about 4 days without playing, and it was driving me crazy. I found myself driving (about 30 miles) to the music store in Indiana just to sit and look at all the basses. I was sitting in the store playing all the different basses just because. Then, ofcourse, 3 days later I went to a different store and did the same thing. Almost as if I was having withdraws. :bag:

Anyone else have a story like that?
  2. slapcracklepop

Jun 28, 2005
    Boston, MA
    Oh yeah there are some days where I'm just ITCHING to play. And some days I've practiced so much I never wanna see a bass again..
  3. txbasschik

Nov 11, 2005
    Leander, Texas
    We went to visit my mother last June. She lives in an *extremely* small town in *very* rural Louisiana. I mean *small*. The closest thing to a music store for 50 miles is the gun store and pawn shop.

After three days without playing, I *had* to go to the pawn shop. They had a really stinky Dean, a *really* stinky Austin, and a GORGEOUS Fender P, looke/felt like a 70's vintage, but the salesperson had no idea. If I'd had the $300 they wanted (didn't know what they had, did they?), I'd have bought it on the spot. Played like a dream. My husband practically had to drag me from the store.

Cherie :)
  4. mmg

Nov 7, 2005
    Boston, MA