Basses with short fret-width / short scale basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by psi, Mar 11, 2005.

1. psi

Mar 11, 2005
    New Jersey
    Does anyone know of any PRO quality short scaled basses? Not really looking for custom; I'm only a hobbyist and don't really have money for a custom, lol. I own a few basses already, and I just find myself wishing I had a short scale sometimes, mostly for the smaller fret-width. Particularly difficult for me are the 1st-to-4th, 2nd-to-5th, and 3rd-to-6th fretting stretches. I *can* make these stretches, but my accuracy and finger strength diminished at these extremes. My hands just aren't that big enough.
  2. A9X

Dec 27, 2003
    Sinny, Oztraya
    All 32" or less and good quality. Some of these are really expensive, but if you're patient and hunt around, bargains can be had, especially secondhand

Alembic (I have 2 in 30.75")
    Landing Bass
    Kubicki X Factor (have one of these too and it would be my suggested buy)
    Michael Dolan
    Status KingBass
    Essex/SX do a couple of 30" for <$US150 that are supposed to be good
    Burns Marquee
    Gibson/Epiphone EB0
    + others I can't think of at this moment.

I like shorties, and ime, the build quality, design and implementation seem to be much more important in shorter scales.