Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Basses with shorter necks....

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Skreeeboy, May 31, 2001.

1. Skreeeboy

Skreeeboy

May 31, 2001
    Japan
    Hey everyone,

I play bass, but my hands are super small. I have an Ibanez that I originally bought because it has a super narrow neck. But I have recently seen a used Gretsch Electromatic bass for sale pretty cheap, and I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with this insturment, good or bad. I am particularily interested in trying it out because it has that shorter neck, and I think I would have an easier time playing it because of the size of my hands. But I am no expert when it comes to the tech end of things. So any advice about this bass, other shorter neck basses, or this subject in general would be greatly appreciated...

2. Brendan

Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    Ok dude...you posted this same thread like 5 times in different forms. So here you go...now hush up and go delete the rest of them!:mad:

Short scale basses are usually shorter by anwhere from two to four inches (regular being aprox. 34", and short scale are 32" and 30"). They have ok sound for the ADG strings, but when you get the thicker E string, you lose a lot of definition and clarity. Sound, tonal and tension sacrifices are made for the 30" scale. Many people abhore short scale for this reason (and seek out 35", or even 36" scale basses)...however, it's always ultimatly up to you. You like the short scale feel and sound? Go for it. Don't like the sound, but it's smaller, so more comfortable? Your call. You could always just play a regular scale bass, and really practice hard, and strengthen the fingers, so the pain is lessened (though this is not reccomended, don't need extra stess on the fingers)