Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bass_man86, Oct 28, 2002.

1. bass_man86

Apr 29, 2002
    Virginia Beach
    I just have to know. What is the deal with 6, 7 and whatever string basses? I have been playing since 1974 now and I still find the traditional 4 with twenty frets challenging and I have had people come up to me virtually everytime that I've played in public tell me "man, you really play great bass!" I will admit that I also play five string and fretless basses but the whole concept of six plus strings eludes me. And folks, please don't those give the tired line that I usually get "well, I don't have move laterally so much" 'cause the only thing that tells me is that:
    a) you don't know your scales
    b) you don't know your neck

Thanks! :eek:
  2. supergreg

Jan 20, 2002
    I play them because they look cool.
  3. Tim Cole

Tim Cole

Jun 12, 2002
    Findlay, Ohio
    I agree, (for my own use anyway) I owned a Ken Smith 6 string for a very short time, found no use for the c string, and the extra width of the neck sucked. I am waiting on Hipshot to make a 2 stage drop tuner, so I can go from standard E tuning, to a D, then down to a B. Would be no use of myself owning a 5 anymore. Hmm, maybe I should of patented the idea before publicly hoping for one! lol
  4. Let me start off by saying this kinda post isn't got get you a warm welcome here man.

1. I'm no complete expert at bassplaying but this statement seems completely ingnorant to me. What does knowing scales have to do with economy of lateral movement?

2.This statement also seems very ignorant due to the fact that knowing the fretboard well doesnt make notes accesible from one position that weren't there before you knew your fretboard.

3. Chords, Harmonics, more notes, different options to play notes (5th fret on Bstring E note for example) and less lateral movement.
  5. Ryan L.

Ryan L. Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND
  6. superphat

Sep 30, 2001