Bassestkkm’s first gig report

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by bassestkkm, Dec 16, 2017.

1. 12/16/2017 at California Citrus State Historic Park

This ones a bit long because it’s got a back story.

About 3 weeks ago I got a phone call from two great friends who I’ve been playing music on and off with for the last 10-12 years.

They had a gig just a few days after I came home from school for winter break. They’ve been playing covers of hip hop, r&b, Motown, Jazz, and rock as part of a long standing gig they have but have never had a bassist with them and asked me if I wanted the gig. Of course, I took it. These guys are phenomenal musicians so there’s no way I’d let this pass up.

My adventure started in Seattle on December 12th at about 5 am when I found out my flight home was cancelled. I was trying to make it home because I wanted to surprise my dad for his birthday. So I went to the airport to try to get on another flight. Long story short it was 730 pm by the time I reached California.

Happily, nobody had ruined my Dad’s surprise and it was awesome to see him in shock to see him just in time for dinner.

The following evening we had rehearsal. HOLY COW!!! These people can play!!! The highlight of our set list and most challenging to learn was This Christmas by Donny Hathaway. I couldn’t find notation really anywhere and I really had to use my ears to learn it. But it came off and we all had a blast playing it. A stellar pianist, saxophonist, drummer, and guitar rounded out the group.

Now come pictures, we had people dancing, free bar access, dinner, and a nice corner haha

Attached Files:

2. Bassed in NZ

Bassed in NZ ...in search of the impeccable groove... Supporting Member

Feb 22, 2008
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Nice gig - always good to play with great musicians! Will you get to play with them again during your break?

bassestkkm, dbase and McG like this.