Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

BassIQ vs Q-Tron

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by danqi, Jan 24, 2002.

1. danqi

danqi

May 21, 2001
    Germany
    I just got my Bass IQ but it is damaged (the switch is a little missplaced and it is hard to set it to the "down" position) and I will send it back to the mailorder store. On the phone they asked me if I wanted another BassIQ or something else.
    They also have an Electro Harmonix Q-Tron for about the same price and I am not sure if i should get that one instead.

I noticed that when I dig in a littler harder the Bass IQ can't handle the signal anymore (sounds a bit distorted). Also it seems like the Q-Tron has more options. I am having a hard setting the BassIQ to a good slap setting. But I guess that is just because I am not very experienced with it yet.

What do you personally prefer and what are the main differences between these two envelope filters?
    Unfortunately I can't try them out anywhere because where I live there are no stores that have bass fx pedals.

2. didnt i answer this question like two days ago...
    BASS IQ ALL THE WAY BABY :D

3. I've heard many times that the Q-tron is rather testy.....One thing I've learned in my filter quest (on-going) is that more options a better filter does not make. There is alot of energy in those low frequencies and a bass specific filter will have a less sensitive response curve in that range, like the Mutron III.

4. The Q-Tron, like all Electro-Harmonix products, has a cheap bypass switch that breaks very easily. The one I tried broke the first time I pressed it, and I was wearing Vans and pressed down with the very end of the shoe.

5. danqi

danqi

May 21, 2001
    Germany
    Well, you did. I just thought I'd open my own thread and collect some more oppinions (not that I would not honor your's).