Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bassist looking for some input

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Tehdouglas, Feb 20, 2006.

1. Tehdouglas

Tehdouglas

Feb 10, 2006
    NH
    Well I've been playing for a couple months, and although that on its own isn’t a long time I’ve been very attached to music for a long time, more so than say your average teen is (I listen to music for more reasons than what sounds good lol). I have a sort of dilemma with my advancing as a Bassist. Sadly, I won’t be able to get a guitar teacher for about 5 months unless something opens up, so I need to tough it out and work on my skills as a beginner player myself.

I have a urge to create my own music, since the reason I want to play bass is to create my own stuff. Despite this, I don't think I have either: A) enough knowledge of all the notes and B) fast/accurate enough fingers. I feel like I need some sort of guidance on what to do to help advance my skills at the level they are. Should I just keep challenging myself with new songs? I’ve been trying out some stuff such as Rush, like 2112 (the first two I can do and the third I’m working on). I looked into some theory but I don’t think repeating scales will be the best method of practice.

Is there a point where things just get easier? I see videos of people playing with smooth fingers but I just can’t do that, or am I just getting way ahead of myself (since they’ve been playing much longer than me)? I want to express myself through the bass, pick it up and play one of the many good tunes floating in my mind that I can’t seem to get out. So do I just tough it out and keep playing until things get easier? How long did it take you guys to “get the groove on”? Thanks for any comments/advice!

2. fretlessrock

fretlessrock Supporting Member

Aug 8, 2002
    Corrupticut