1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bassist Lou Barlow of Dinosaur Jr

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Thrillcall, Dec 12, 2011.

1. Thrillcall

Thrillcall

Dec 9, 2011
    [​IMG]

Hello folks,

This is my first time publishing in this forum, so I apologize if this isn't in the right directory. My name is David, and I'm a music journalist.

I recently interviewed bassist Lou Barlow of Dinosaur Jr. During our chat, Barlow made one comment about being "just the bass player" in the band. It struck me as self-deprecating and sad. I wondered if other bass players, like yourselves, feel similarly. Please share your thoughts as I'd love to potentially include some commentary from other bassists in my article.

Here's the original quote:

2. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Supporting Member

"I'm just the bass player" is a typical joke amongst bassists but there is truth to it.
    A rock band consists of a good songwriter and a charismatic singer. Pretty much everything else is disposable. Of course there are exceptions but not many.

"I'm just the bass player" is also a protection and very often, a comfy shell. A bass player is essential to a band and can change a lot about the way a song sounds. For the most part, what we do is invisible. We can have fun doing music and control everything in the dark without the hassle of being up front.

3. Thrillcall

Thrillcall

Dec 9, 2011
    Is this a preference? I mean, does a bass player become a bass player because they want to be out of the spotlight?

Lou Barlow seemed to feel the opposite. As though he was in this shell, maybe originally because it was comfortable, but when reflecting would have preferred to have more song writing control, input on direction, and overall value in the band.

4. I can safely say that now I've seen everything.

5. Son of Wobble

Son of Wobble

Mar 8, 2010
    :bassist: