Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bassist vs. Bass Player, who cares?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Matt Till, Sep 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    Why do some of you guys make a big deal of this. Ala I'm a Bassist, not a bass player from Obsolex's signature. Why are you a bass player not a bassist. :confused: or visa versa.

Let the music do the talking, etc. :rolleyes:

2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    I like to think of myself as a musician first and foremost.

either that or as a musical prankster

3. You forgot bass guitarist.

4. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA

Yeah, well, there is always that. But if you were in a band, and someone introduced you as "The Bassist" would you say, "Ahem... bass player." And then do this :cool: ?

5. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002

ahahahah *wipes tear from eye* that's really funny.

6. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    I remeber debate of this earlier (a while ago) but I'd imagine if I searched for "Bass Player" on talkbass, I wouldn't get much luck.

7. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    toms_river.nj.us
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    I consider myself a musician....

I primarily play stringed instruments in the "Guitar" family. I prefer the electric "Bass" of the family.

I guess I'm a "Bass Guitarist" if you need to label me.

Someday I hope to learn the double bass... maybe then I could be a "Bassist".

But anyway I look at, you can call me a "Jack***" and so long as I can create and express myself... I couldn't care less.

8. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001
    Who gives a ****?

9. Airsick Pilot

Airsick Pilot Cleopatra

Jul 29, 2002
    Cockpit(throwing up)