Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bassist who's unable to play well despite 1,5 years experience

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Abr@hamBassBoy, Mar 1, 2003.

1. I've been playing bass for like 1,5-2 years now and I've realized that i suck!! I can't play the bass solo in "my genereation" for instance... Am I abnormal??

2. SkaKing27

SkaKing27

Sep 1, 2002
    St.Louis MO
    Do you take lessons or have somone who is more expirenced than you around so they can teach you?

3. Grygore

Grygore

Oct 25, 2002
    Grand Prairie, TX
    I've been playing bass for over 10 years and I can't play the solo from "My Generation" either. Maybe I could if I tried to learn it though - you're not gonna just wake up one day and be able to play every cool bass line you ever heard. It takes practice....

4. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    I don't know if judging your ability to play a bass solo relates to how good you are. But as far as the solo itself goes, take it apart bar by bar. Find out what you can play easily and what will take you a while. Whatever measure of the solo tends to give you trouble just work on that for a while. Once you combine that with the parts that are cake for you... you've got yourself a bass solo.

I believe I'll have to quote Alice from Alice in Wonderland in saying, "I give myself very good advice, but I rarely ever take it."

5. Woodchuck

Woodchuck

Apr 21, 2000
    Atlanta / Macon (sigh)
    Gallien Krueger for the last 12 years!