1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

bassists who sing...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by joebar, Mar 18, 2013.

1. joebar

joebar

Jan 10, 2010
    in my current band i am a bassist who sings about half the time and almost always as a harmony.
    i am a solid bassist and when i sing, i simplify my lines a great deal which i don`t mind.
    the funny thing, is that i would rather someone compliment the vocals (not just mine) in the band than any one instrument.

are there any other bassists that would rather be known for their vocals as well as their bass playing, or is singing just a means to an end; the cost of doing business as a bassist who happens to be able to carry a tune?

2. I like to sing and I don't like to sing. Not that I "sing"... It's more like yelling or grunting on key and sometimes not on key. :D Like you, I have to simplify my playing when I'm singing even if there's room in the song to make it interesting. I also have to play with a pick in order to keep time. Total mental timing block when using my fingers. That and I've sang in my last two bands so I'm probably better at playing with a pick these days, anyway.

3. Wil_Couch

Wil_Couch

Mar 12, 2013
    I get the same mental block when trying to sing while playing. Just can't seem to do it.

Guys like Pinnick, Lee, Wooten, etc that can play complex lines and sing complex melody at the same time (or even have a conversation) amaze me.

4. Kenny Vasoli from The Starting Line is a great singer bassist, as is Fat Mike from NOFX.

There's also Dan Smith from Listener, whom I feel is the best at that simply based on the fact he does 'talk music' so he doesn't really follow the bass rhythms.

5. joebar

joebar

Jan 10, 2010