1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Basslines tone circuit VS Aguilar OBP-3???

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by bassman74, May 24, 2007.

1. bassman74

bassman74

Jan 2, 2007
    Montreal
    Basslines tone circuit VS Aguilar OBP-3??? Which one is best?

I was going OBP-3 all the way until someone told me about the STC-3 from Seymour Duncan. He told me that they are prewired and versatile.

Anyone has experience with those pre-amp???

It will be match with a bassline MM pickup.

Thanks

Francois

2. Debating the exact same thing but with the 2-band options.

I'm interested to hear opinions...subscribed.

3. Dave W

Dave W Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains
    I was planning on getting the SD Bassline as well as the tone circuit for my SR. I have no experience playing through either one in an SR though. I do like matching companies...as in SD w/ SD.

I do have an Aggie OBD-3 pre in my Modulus. It sounds awesome. Very smooth and versatile.

4. elpelotero

elpelotero

Jun 16, 2006
    Man i was about to make a thread like this today! great post!

5. i have the 3 band basslines in one of my basses and it is very clean and clear. the boost on the bass stays away from boomyness and the top end cts but isnt brittle, then the mids add/take away a little bark or a bite with a pick. The slap switch is very cool too.

and it was all fitted in my bass within an hour (including me figuring out my P pickup was out of phase with the MM, so polarity was switched hehe).

i havent used an OBP-3 so i cant say either way on that....but i expect it to be very clean.

6. mark roberts

mark roberts Supporting Member

Nov 13, 2004
    Lawrence, KS