Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bassman 200 Troubles

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Scooch, Mar 11, 2005.

1. Scooch

Scooch

Mar 11, 2005
    I just bought this amp new from a store about 2 weeks ago. Everything was working fine until I started playing it at about 3/4's full volume/gain.

I was playing it and it decided to cut out on me and the clipping led came on and it wouldn't play any notes, there was just a loud humming coming from it. I let it sit for 20 minutes turned it back on and it was fine. This happened again, I let it sit for about 10 minutes and then lightly tapped it on the top and it started working again. Now tonight the same thing but I cannot get it to work at all, it's been doing this for a good 2 hours.

I would like to try to troubleshoot this/fix this problem myself because the shop where it is warranted has about a 2-3 weeks wait. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I should do? Also would be playing through a distortion pedal have anything to do with this preamp clipping? :help: :crying:

2. DO NOT attempt to repair it yourself. It will immediately void your warranty--and what if you cannot fix it yourself? Now you're hosed!!!

I'd take it back to the shop pronto and demand either a new amp or my money back. "No way will I wait two to three weeks for it to be repaired, thank you kindly, the amp is only two weeks old." Be polite but firm, ask to speak to the manager if necessary. The amp is under warranty!!! You could try another store, if you have the receipt....Another option is to try to deal with the manufacturer directly, call their customer service. You may have to send it in and wait, though.

P.S. I'm assuming it still does this without the distortion pedal being plugged in?? If you've got the pedal plugged in, UNPLUG IT and try again.

3. Scooch

Scooch

Mar 11, 2005