BassMaster Bass Amps Series XS800H - Bass Head - 800w

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Nuk3m, Oct 3, 2005.

1. Nuk3m

Sep 18, 2004
    Down Under
    Im wondering if this is a good amp and if its the amp for me.

Cant seem to find one where i am, not even close so i cant try one out.

I have tryed the Traynor all tube bass head and i thought it was great but only could get one sound out of it and it was abit floppy.

What i want is to be able to get some warmth but have a head versatile enough to get it just fat and tight with no warmth.

The musical styles i play are funk, metal, progressive rock, and classical.

Im an audio engineer and too much warmth can get tiring on my ears and especially if all the guitarists have tube amps.

But ive also heard these hybrid amps dont get anywhere near the warmth one wants.

I dont want to tell the guys to order it into the store if im not going to like it.

Any personal experience with this amp or yorkville gear will be apreciated and also anything you have heard about this amp will help.

Thanks for your time.
  2. Rezdog

Rezdog Supporting Member

Feb 17, 2004
    T.Rez, Canada
    Greetings from the North,
    I've got an XS800H and have been using since late spring. At first I was running it with one or two Fender Bassman angled 412's until I got my Dr.Bass Rx2260. The XS800H is one outstanding head. The only mod I've made to it is switching out the Sovtek for a JJ Tesla. For the styles that you've mentioned I think you'll be very pleased with it. All I can tell you is that I don't know anyone that's wanted to take theirs back after getting it.
    With its versitality it is hard to beat and it sounds awesome. If you're worried about it being too warm it's easy to dial it out.
  3. jamesblue

jamesblue Supporting Member

Mar 27, 2005
    Central Maryland
    I also use the Telsa JJ, makes the sound much better.
    I use an Aguilar 4x12 and it's great.
    With 10s I'm sure it will punch more if you slap.